URGH! A Music Blog


Holding Out For A Mylo

Posted in Dance,Music Reviews by M on September 26, 2005

So I’m riding in the car with D a few months ago, and he says, “Hey, let me play you this Moby remix I like.”

Uh oh.

He cut me off. “No, I know what you’re going to say. But it’s a good remix. And you know why? It gets rid of all the Moby stuff except for three words.”

And indeed, “Lift Me Up (Mylo Mix)” is 90% Moby free. It’s a pretty decent song to boot. The only other Mylo song I had heard was “Drop the Pressure”. As far as I was concerned, he was two for two.

But now I’m sick to death of “Drop the Pressure” in all its forms. Mylo’s other singles are too little, too late. Why listen to “In My Arms” when Cabin Crew gives us twice the Boy Meets Girl for the same price? And “Destroy Rock and Roll”? Mylo’s beat just gets in the way of those loopy cultist vocals. He loops selected artists over and over instead of retaining looping references to “Scooby Dooby Doo and the movie Ghostbusters.” Come on, Mylo!

I’m still holding out for Mylo, but he’s gotten lazy. And, class, what happens to a musician who becomes lazy? They become Moby. How’s that for dramatic irony?

Comments Off on Holding Out For A Mylo

