URGH! A Music Blog


Have Your Cake and Eat It!

Posted in Blank & Jones,Dance,Music Reviews,Music Videos by M on May 7, 2006

Whoa Ellie!

URGH! headquarters has fallen in love all over again with vocalist Elles De Graaf. You should remember her as the voice of Perpetuous Dreamer’s “The Sound of Goodbye”, a definitively Hall of Fame trance track. The only reason God gave us spines is so they could be chilled by De Graaf’s powerful voice. She’s that good.

And she’s back with a knockout single by Blank & Jones called “Catch”. The song takes full advantage of The Sound of De Graaf, using her voice to convey the intensity of her desire to, as the lyrics go, “catch you if I can!!!”

Yes, every line sung by De Graaf should be followed by three exclamation points.

See it for yourself: Blank & Jones have a teaser video for “Catch” (direct link) on their website.

The song is great, but while De Graaf (we’ll assume the woman in the video is her) runs up and down the stairs getting Jimmy Stewart-type vertigo, B&J just sit in their apartment, listening to “Catch” on headphones. Lame! They aren’t even on turntables; they’re on two iBooks! But it doesn’t hurt the awesome music they’ve created.

Bonus! Here’s the URGH! Guide to the Chorus of “Catch”. Note the subtle differences!

Out of my way I’m running.
I’m gonna catch you if I can.
Out of my way I’m coming.
I’m gonna catch you if I can.
Out of my way I’m running.
I’m gonna catch you if I can.
Out of my way stop running.
I’m gonna catch you!

6 Responses to 'Have Your Cake and Eat It!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. manux7[ITA] said,

    This song is great!!!!

  2. Locos said,

    it’s very very good song 🙂

  3. Chris said,

    You realize that “Catch” was originally penned by Kosheen, and not by Blank & Jones. I think that Sian Evans did a much better job on that vocal than Elles de Graaf did. Although de Graaf is a great vocalist, I think if you give Kosheen’s version a listen, you’ll tend to agree with me.


  4. […] URGH reader Chris gives us the facts you should know! […]

  5. Teflon said,

    Great Music, although very simple… In germany, Albrecht Pilz has called this “Deppentechno” or in other words: Techno for idiots.

    My problem with Blank and Jones: I am addicted. I hear this music once after another until I have to stop it, put the CD away… Then I have to wait several months until I am able to rediscover it…

  6. M said,

    Thanks Teflon!

    Mr. Pilz has a point. “Catch” is the most complex song I’ve heard from Blank and Jones, but overall the duo can be a little lightweight. But compared to Scooter? Compared to Jan Wayne? Compared to Heiko and Maiko? Blank and Jones might as well be Pierre and Marie Curie.


Comments are closed.


