URGH! A Music Blog


Blows My Mind Like Munition!

Posted in Benassi,Dance,Faithless by M on October 31, 2006

Continental music bloggers The Rocksuckers hook us up with “Bombs”, the new single by veteran electro-twiddlers Faithless!

Maxi Jazz, Faithless’s male vocalist, is no longer “Insomnia”‘s lonely mad lover on the heath, tearing off tacks with his teeth. Now he’s a family man, and a war victim!

That’s right, these bombs are literal. Check out these depressing lyrics!

One bomb, the whole block gone.
Can’t find me children and dust covers the sun.
Everywhere is noise, panic, and confusion.
But to some, another fun day in Babylon.
I’m gonna bury my wife and dig up my gun.
My life is done, so now I’ve got to kill someone.

The radio cut for “Bombs” is way too tepid for this apocalyptic rap. Benny Benassi drops in a remix that picks up the pace without losing the eerie, dreamy feel of the radio edit, but it’s the Galaxy 21 Mix that really makes this a loud, powerful, chilling piece of music. Excellent work all around! The Gap Band would be proud.

Comments Off on Blows My Mind Like Munition!

