URGH! A Music Blog


Unsound System

Posted in LCD Soundsystem,Music Reviews,Pop by M on March 8, 2007

Oh, LCD Soundsystem, I know you’ve pissed me off in the past. “Daft Punk Is Playing In My House” was not playing in my house, nor were your other works. From your self-titled album, only “On Repeat” charmed me to any extent. It made for good jogging music.

But I can’t stay mad. As far as I can tell your realsoonnow album Sound of Silver is more of the same sparse, repetitive instrumentation paired with Beck-with-a-headcold vocals. The lead-off single “North American Scum” is the very definition of retread. But it’s not so offensive.

The song builds very well into a neato guitar riff that stays crunchy even in milk. Vocals are a mixed bag: James Murphy tries out some falsettos like he’s been reading The Darkness for Dummies (not so hot), but he brings in a female vocalist to shout out “NORTH AMERICA!” like she’s Kim and Cindy from The B-52s (always hot).

Give it a spin, kids! I’m hoping that LCD Soundsystem becomes (to me) like Cake: a band with a unique sound that I can respect even if I don’t listen to them all the time.

Oh, but Mr. Soundsystem? If the rest of Sound of Silver sucks, we’re so breaking up.

One Response to 'Unsound System'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. M said,

    Did I say anything good about Murphy’s lyrics above? No? Good. Because they’re goshawful.


Comments are closed.


