URGH! A Music Blog


Ronny’s Music

Posted in Downloads,iTunes by M on April 29, 2007

So if Chan Marshall at Wal-Mart represents a thread to indie rock, what does it mean when Audioslave shows up in my iTunes?

Don’t blame me; blame my next-door neighbor: “Ronny” is leeching my wireless Internet! Ever since he made himself a part of my local network, “Ronny’s shared Limewire music” has appeared as an all-new iTunes playlist.

And it’s alllllllllll crap.

Take a gander at his playlist in all its glory, then come back here. If you ever doubt that you have good taste in music, print out this picture and tape it to your wall. Look to it as a daily affirmation: you do not live in an arid, classic rock wasteland.

I’m also glad my iTunes library is carefully maintained. I don’t blame Ronny for the misspellings, the mislabeling, even the dubious formatting of the word “Rock and Roll.” This is all Limewire, after all; the music comes to him as garbage. Still, I look at what’s there and I cringe. Ronny, doesn’t this sloppy information bother you? Doesn’t this music?

We’ve all seen Cat Stevens credited for this Harry Chapin tune:

Cat Stevens being credited for Harry Chapin's Cat's in the Cradle

But I never made this connection between the Doobie Brothers and Dobie Gray. I guess all it takes is an extra “o”:

The Doobie Brothers credited for Dobie Gray's Drift Away

Then there are the misspellings. I do hold out hope for the tape deck. And the Creedence!

Creedence Clearwater Revival credited as Credence

And sweet Jesus, Sinead O’Connor‘s name is spelled differently within the same track! It requires hard work to make things that bad!

Sinead O'Connor credited as Sinead O'Conner

Lynyrd Skynyrd credited as Lynard Skynard

Same thing with Skynyrd. But it gets worse:

Lynyrd Skynyrd's Free Bird on the Meet Joe Black soundtrack

Ronny’s version of “Free Bird” is off of the Meet Joe Black soundtrack! Seriously? Did Anthony Hopkins pull off some whammin’ air guitar in that movie?

Only Ronny knows. Too bad he’s getting kicked off the network. Come on, the guy has a White Lion album!

2 Responses to 'Ronny’s Music'

Subscribe to comments with RSS

  1. Fleser said,

    Suggestion: BAD PLAYLISTS AS MARKETABLE ART.

    Seriously.

    This guy’s ramshackle, yet beautifully fucked-up style would make him the Cy Twombly of the set.

    –fleser

  2. M said,

    Can I make that excuse work for me as well?

    “It’s not three separate Level 42 albums: it’s Outsider Art!”


Comments are closed.


